D-IAS Chair N. Asger Mortensen new fellow in The European Academy of Sciences

Congratulations to our Chair of Technical Science, Professor N. Asger Mortensen who is now Elected Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EurASc).

The European Academy of Sciences is a fully independent international association of distinguished scholars that aims to recognise and elect to its membership the best European scientists with a vision for Europe as a whole, transcending national borders both in elections and in actions, and with the aims of strengthening European science and scientific cooperation and of utilising the expertise of its members in advising other European bodies in the betterment of European research, technological application and social development.


It goes without saying that this is far from the first time N. Asger Mortensen is awarded with prestigious recognition. He is also an elected member of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences (ATV) and the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences (DNA), while internationally he is an elected fellow of American Physical Society (APS), Optical Society of America (OSA), International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE), Institute of Physics (IOP).

Professor N. Asger Mortensen is a VILLUM Investigator in the Centre for Nano Optics at the University of Southern Denmark, being the PI of a major research program in quantum plasmonics with support from VILLUM FONDEN. Prior to this, he was a full professor (faculty since 2004) at the Technical University of Denmark, from where he also obtained the MSc (1998), PhD (2001) and Dr. Techn. (2006) degrees.

Read more about N. Asger Mortensen

Read more about European Academy of Sciences