Danish Institute for Advanced Study opens in its current form with chairs from all five faculties


The first new DIAS assistant professors start


The Danish house for world class research opens


Danish Institute for Advanced Study (DIAS) is a national elite center at University of Southern Denmark (SDU) that sets the framework for excellent research.

We offer an extensive program of different prestigious lectures, and we aim to inspire groundbreaking ideas through the meeting of minds within all disciplines.

DIAS include chairs from all five faculties at SDU and a number of external chairs from the University of Copenhagen. The most important core in DIAS we believe is our team of very promising DIAS Fellows.

Meet the people in DIAS



DIAS brings outstanding researchers together in an interdisciplinary center for fundamental research and intellectual inquiry. We exist to encourage and support curiosity-driven research across all fields, and thereby unlock new revolutionary ideas.


Advisory Board


Henrik Tvarnø

Cand.phil. in History and and Former Director for the A.P. Møller Foundation (A.P. Møller og Hustru Chastine Mc-Kinney Møllers Fond til almene Formaal).

With a background as a historian, culture and roots have been a dominant aspect of his academic occupation, and he has written multiple books about Rome and European history.

Furthermore, he is a member of the board in Fondenes Videnscenter and Former Director for Folketinget (2001-08) and vice-chancellor for SDU (1993-01). As chancellor her was behind the merger between Odense University and a number of educational institutions, which became what today goes by the name of the University of Southern Denmark.


Bente Klarlund Pedersen


Clinical Professor of Integrative Medicine at Department of Clinical Medicine, University of Copenhagen and Adjunct Professor at University of Southern Denmark.

Furthermore, she is Chief Physician and Centre Director of the Centre for Physical Activity Research (CFAS) at Rigshospitalet.

Due to her background and award-winning research, she is one of the most frequently used researchers in the media within topics on health, diet, exercise and Danes’ health. She has written several books on the subject and is the author of more than 600 scientific articles, just as she is often used as a lecturer in both Denmark and at international conferences.


Robbert Dijkgraaf

Director of the Institute for Advanced Study and Leon Levy Professor at Princeton and tenured professor at the University of Amsterdam.

He is a mathematical physicist who has made significant contributions to string theory and the advancement of science education. His research focuses on the interface between mathematics and particle physics. In addition to finding surprising and deep connections between matrix models, topological string theory, and supersymmetric quantum field theory, he has developed precise formulas for the counting of bound states that explain the entropy of certain black holes.

He received the Iris Medal for Science Communication in 2019, the Comenius Prize in 2012 and has received honorary degrees from Vrije Universiteit Brussel (2019), Leiden University (2018), and Radboud University Nijmegen (2013).


Peter Baldwin

Professor of History at UCLA and Global Distinguished Professor at NYU, Chair of the Board of the Center for Jewish History and a member of the Board of Trustees of the New York Public Library.

He is especially interested in the historical development of the modern state – a broad field that has led him in many different directions.  He is the author of many books which has dealt above all with France, Germany, Britain, Sweden, Denmark and the United States. He has published works on the comparative history of the welfare state, on social policy more broadly, on public health, and on the history of copyright.

His latest book is Command and Persuade: Crime, Law, and the State across History (2021).  He has a book on the Covid-19 epidemic forthcoming in March 2021.